THE PARIS SPY video and author tour dates

THE PARIS SPY, Maggie Hope #8, is coming out August 8th! Here’s a video, to mark the occasion and serve as a little preview for the novel:


To celebrate, I’ll be doing a series of author talks and signings. Cities include Brooklyn, Houston, St. Louis, Scottsdale, Buffalo, Brooklyn again, and Toronto. Hope to see you!


Details for THE PARIS SPY author tour below:

Tuesday, August 8ON SALE
7:00 pm
Talk & Signing
Barnes & Noble
267 7th Avenue Brooklyn, NY, 11215

Wednesday, August 9
6:30 pm
In Conversation w/ John Kwiatkowski
Murder By The Book
2342 Bissonnet Houston, TX 77005
Thursday, August 10
7:00 pm
Talk, Q&A, Signing
St. Louis County Library
1640 S. Lindbergh Blvd., St. Louis, MO 63131
Moderator: Laura Benedict

Details: An onstage interview with historical suspense author Laura Benedict
Susan Elia MacNeal presents the sixth installment in the popular mystery series starring World War II-era spy and code-breaker extraordinaire Maggie Hope. Maggie has come a long way since serving as a typist for Winston Churchill. Now she’s working undercover in the eerily silent city of Paris. When Maggie’s half-sister Elise goes missing, Maggie must employ all her talents for deception and spycraft to root out a traitor, find her sister, and locate the reports crucial to planning D-Day in a deadly game of wits with the Nazi intelligence elite.
Saturday, August 12
2:00 pm
Poisoned Pen
4014 N Goldwater Blvd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251
Wednesday, August 30 – BUFFALO, NY
6:00 pm
North Tonawanda Public Library
505 Meadow Dr, North Tonawanda, NY 14120
Thursday, August 31
4:00 – 6:30 PM
Barnes & Noble
4401 Transit Rd Clarence, NY 14221
Saturday, September 9
Slice Literary Conference
St. Francis College in Brooklyn

10:00 – 11:10 am
Panel: What Happens Next?
Writing a book takes a long time. A rich, tightly woven manuscript can take years to complete, and that time is often spent in fits of solitude. But as you write, the marketplace keeps spinning around you. Publishers may clamor to publish a certain kind of book one year (“We want the next Wild!”) and then quickly feel fatigued by those very books (“If we get one more manuscript about a woman’s quest to find herself …”). It can seem impossible to know what agents and publishers are looking for at the moment you’re pitching your book, or where your book falls in the marketplace at any given time. Hear from a group of agents and publishing pros who are actively seeking debut authors. Find out what they think is working, what’s not, and what’s on their (and editors’) wish lists for 2018 and beyond. They’ll also share insight into how to look at your manuscript through the lens of the current marketplace and how you can make sure your project is seen as timely and timeless rather than as a passing trend.

Friday, October 13

Bouchercon—Toronto  
Oct 12 – 15 in Sheraton Hotel Toronto
123 Queen Street WestToronto, Ontario M5H 2M9  

11:30 to 12:30
PANEL: Mysteries set during a war

Location: Sheraton A room

THE QUEEN’S ACCOMPLICE nominated for Barry Award

So very honored (Barry honored, in fact) that THE QUEEN’S ACCOMPLICE, Maggie Hope #6, has been nominated for a 2017 Barry Award


The Barry Award is a literary prize for crime fiction, awarded annually since 1997 by the editors of Deadly Pleasures, an American quarterly publication. The prize is named after Barry Gardner, an American critic.


Thank you so much — it’s an honor to be nominated. The winners will be announced at Bouchercon 2017 in  September in Toronto.


THE PARIS SPY, Maggie Hope #7, to be published August 8


SUSAN ELIA MACNEAL: Delighted to announce that THE PARIS SPY, Maggie Hope #8, will be published on August 8, 2017. Not too long to wait! I absolutely love the cover—art, as always, by the incredibly talented Mick Wiggins



And here’s the gorgeous full painting—”without any of those pesky words!” as Mick says…



As soon as I can, I’ll post more about appearances and other exciting developments. Cheers!



THE QUEEN’S ACCOMPLICE is out!

Well, THE QUEEN’S ACCOMPLICE is out and on the USA TODAY and Publishers Weekly bestseller lists, yay!


My editor, who also happens to edit Lee Child, Alan Bradley, and Laurie R. King, wrote a lovely piece for Penguin Random House. Thank you, Kate!

From the Editor’s Desk: Kate Miciak, Vice President & Director of Editorial for Ballantine Bantam Dell on Susan Elia MacNeal’s Maggie Hope books

OCT 3, 2016 EDITOR’S DESK
Editors get very passionate about books they work on – the Editor’s Desk series is his or her place to write in-depth about what makes a certain title special. Get the real inside-scoop on how books are shaped by the people who know them best.
It all started with a title on a manuscript submission I couldn’t get out of my brain: Mr. Churchill’s Secretary. OK, I admit to a certain obsession with the British icon–but his secretary? What must it have been like to work during Britain’s darkest hours with that flamboyant, irascible, outrageously complicated figure? Biographies and memoirs abound of Churchill’s generals, his family, his aides. We know all about his pets, his bathing habits, his socks, favorite drink and books. But his secretary?
As I turned the manuscript pages, I was hooked. For this debut novel wasn’t merely about life in the shadow of Winston Churchill during those scary, dangerous days of what became known as the “false war”—it was the captivating story of a brilliant, college-educated, ambitious young woman with a flair for math and codes…who found that the only job opening for a woman in wartime UK government was typing and filing: Talk about a glass ceiling!
And, she wasn’t even British.  She was an American.
An American woman in the Blitz, working at the side of the seminal power makers of the period, forced to elbow her way into a man’s world….And crimson lipstick and cocktails….
What’s not to love?
Over the course of six award-winning novels, Susan and her marvelous creation, Maggie Hope, continue to enthrall me. In these gloriously researched capers, Susan has led Maggie and her spellbound readers down the bomb-torn alleyways of London, into the heart ‎of the UK’s spy network, parachuting into enemy headquarters, conspiring with Eleanor Roosevelt in the very corridors of the White House.  She’s crafted an intimate glimpse of young Princess Lisbeth and the Royal Family at Windsor; cavorted with Fala, FDR’s Scottie; and courageously shown us the suffering of those in the concentration camps.  More important, she’s stripped away the bald historical facts to inveigle us deep into the hearts of women during war:  women making tough choices and sacrifices, surviving, fighting back, courageously holding together their lives and their jobs and their families under unspeakable pressures.
There was a real Mr. Churchill’s secretary, a woman named Elizabeth Nel who worked for the Prime Minister from 1941 to 1945 and even wrote a memoir of it, which begins: “It doesn’t really matter who I am or where I come from.  Without undue modesty, the only thing of real interest about me is that during World War II I worked for four and a half years as one of the Personal Secretaries to Sir Winston Churchill….”  
But Susan MacNeal has proven, time and time again in her marvelous, intriguing novels, that the women behind the scenes did matter.  And that’s the real triumph of the Maggie Hope novels.
Learn more about the Maggie Hope books below!
Mr. Churchill's Secretary by Susan Elia MacNeal
For fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Laurie R. King, and Anne Perry, Mr. Churchill’s Secretary captures the drama of an era of unprecedented challenge—and the greatness that rose to meet it.

London, 1940. Winston Churchill has just been sworn in, war rages across the Channel, and the threat of a Blitz looms larger by…  Read more >

I WANT IT

Princess Elizabeth's Spy by Susan Elia MacNeal
Susan Elia MacNeal introduced the remarkable Maggie Hope in her acclaimed debut, Mr. Churchill’s Secretary. Now Maggie returns to protect Britain’s beloved royals against an international plot—one that could change the course of history. 
 
As World War II sweeps the continent and England steels itself against…  Read more >

I WANT IT

His Majesty's Hope by Susan Elia MacNeal
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

For fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Laurie R. King, and Anne Perry, whip-smart heroine Maggie Hope returns to embark on a clandestine mission behind enemy lines where no one can be trusted, and even the smallest indiscretion can be deadly.

World War II has finally come home to Britain, but it…  Read more >

I WANT IT

The Prime Minister's Secret Agent by Susan Elia MacNeal
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • For fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, and Anne Perry comes a gripping mystery featuring intrepid spy and code breaker Maggie Hope. This time, the fallout of a deadly plot comes straight to her own front door.
 
World War II rages on across Europe, but Maggie Hope has finally…  Read more >

I WANT IT

Mrs. Roosevelt's Confidante by Susan Elia MacNeal
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • In this riveting mystery from Susan Elia MacNeal, England’s most daring spy, Maggie Hope, travels across the pond to America, where a looming scandal poses a grave threat to the White House and the Allied cause.December 1941. Soon after the attack on Pearl Harbor, Winston Churchill…  Read more >

I WANT IT

The Queen's Accomplice by Susan Elia MacNeal
Spy and code-breaker extraordinaire Maggie Hope returns to war-weary London, where she is thrust into the dangerous hunt for a monster, as theNew York Times bestselling mystery series for fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Charles Todd, and Anne Perry continues.
 
England, 1942. The Nazis’ relentless Blitz may have…  Read more >

I WANT IT